30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Nine

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“29. The night of your 21st birthday (if not yet 21, the last birthday you had)”

My 21st birthday fell on a Monday. Yeah, no luck there!

It was actually a wonderful summer. I’d graduated from University the previous month and I was making the most of a few months off to enjoy myself before looking for my first proper job. Little did I know I wouldn’t get that for another two years, but that’s a whole other story.

I could have, and probably should have, moved my birthday celebrations to a different day. But it’s not like I hadn’t been out a lot around that time anyway, and no other day felt like my birthday. So Monday it was.

First off, I got my friends together for a game of five-a-side football. Still technically being a student, we were able to book that dirt cheap. Nowadays I’ll pay somewhere between four a five quid a head to play, but back then a fiver booked the whole court!

After that, it was get showered and changed and off to the pub. To be honest, I’ve no real recollection of the time in the pub. It’s not that I was too drunk, it’s just that we didn’t do all that much. Later on we moved on to the Garage – one of Glasgow’s nightclubs which played music I actually enjoyed.

I have to admit, I preferred the main room music which had a habit of playing the cheesiest nonsense possible. I seem to remember S Club 7 being a particular favourite of the time. Hey, my music credibility went out the window long ago, I’m happy to admit I enjoy the cheesy garbage as it’s good fun if nothing else. I can’t dance, so dancing like an idiot for a laugh to cheesy music just seems to go together. Even to this day I have Katy Perry and Girls Aloud on my Google Play music just to cheer me up. It works too, so don’t knock it.

Anyway, the Garage also had it’s hipster floor where all the Indie music could be found. So if you wanted something like that you always had the option. I did like it there too, but usually for a sing-a-long. Failing that I’d normally be found on the main floor, which was usually packed.

Not on a Monday night though.

If I’ve one abiding memory of my 21st birthday its of the two guys who were literally rolling around on the dance floor. I’m not kidding, the place was so empty they had the time and space to roll about on it. On any normal night in the Garage you’d have neither the time nor the space nor the inclination to do that. This was a floor that was notoriously sticky on a nightly basis after all. But not on this Monday night.

That’s about all I remember of my 21st birthday though. We had a night out, with good friends, on a night that no one else was out. But it was a night out with good friends, so that’s all that really mattered in the end.

It was also one of the last nights I remember having in the Garage. After folk started moving away for work and the like, we never really went there again. I ended up in the Garage a couple of years later after a completely separate night out in a different crowd entirely and I just felt out of place. I wasn’t there just having a laugh with my friends, this was people I’d be more likely to chat to over a few drinks. That doesn’t work in the Garage.

Not only that but I felt old. This was despite the fact I must have been around 23 or 24 at the time. The place was full of younger, new students, at the end of their teenage years and I felt like my time had passed already.

I dread to think what it would be like if I went there now.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 29 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

