30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Eight

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“28. The word/phrase you use constantly”

If you listen to the Scottish Football Forums podcast that I’ve been a guest on for several years and currently host once a week, you’ll probably know the answer to that already. There’ll be several things I say far too much on there. Things like starting a sentence with “Of course…” or “Obviously…” I’ve also been known to throw in several “To be fair…” comments as well.

I probably use the word “fuck” more than any other though. It’s just so useful! I don’t think there’s a more versatile word in existence.

Not that I use it on the podcast. Or around my son. I know it offends people, and I know I should probably keep him away from swear words for as long as possible. But when I’m in the right company, a well timed “fuck” can be really useful.

And as Billy Connolly once said, you find me the proper alternatives and I’ll use them. For instance, “go away” is most certainly not a true alternative to “fuck off”. It just doesn’t have the same gravitas.

And anyone who suggests that people who swear do so because they have a limited vocabulary can fuck off too. You’re wrong, quite clearly. There are evidently words I use that you don’t for one thing!

Mind you, I do have a habit of overusing it. Depending on my mood, the word “fuck” can not only be a useful word, it can also be punctuation! It does make for a good comma at times, especially since that gives me just a little more thinking time when I’m speaking. Sometimes I need that because my mouth works faster than my brain.

That might just be a Glasgow thing though, I’m not sure there’s another city in the world when “fuck” can be used as a comma. Or a capital letter in some cases. I’ve heard people start sentences with “Fuckin…” for no reason whatsoever. That’s probably where I draw the line though.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 28 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

