30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Six

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“26. Things you’d say to an ex.”

Well that’s easy, it would be some variant of “I hope you’re happy.”

I actually don’t have that many ex-girlfriends. I barely have a list of people I’ve been on a date with at some point! By my count, I’ve got just two ex-girlfriends and a third person I was on a date with a couple of times. That’s it, that’s my lot. As I revealed on day three, I started late. The first one lasted online for a few years and offline for a few months before life took us in our separate ways. No ill-feeling there, even if it was a bit of a messier ending than it should have been. In her case I know she’s happily married these days, so it’s more “glad you’re happy” than “hope you’re happy” with her.

The second one came several months after the end of the first one and only lasted a month. We were just too different to work as a couple, but while I suggested we could stay friends I think she really wanted more than that again and so I had to put some distance between us. Despite that, I’ve no ill-feeling there either. I’ve no idea what she’s doing now, but I hope whatever it is that she’s happy.

The one that I only dated a couple of times was more a case of her being conflicted between wanting to move on and her wanting to get back together with an ex. To be honest the second date was pathetic, mainly because I had no clue what I was doing or where the potential relationship was going, so I’m not surprised there was never a third date. Regardless, she did eventually get back together with her ex and I believe they started a family together too. I was never the right person for her, so I’m glad this never went anywhere. Again, I hope she’s happy, and as far as I know she is.

Mind you, the corollary to that last story is that she passed my phone number on to her friend, who then called me up to ask me out and I turned her down… but you read about my wife on day eleven! So additionally I would have to say “thank you” to her for that!

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 26 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

