30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Five

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“25. Four weird traits you have.”

  1. My taste in food. I mentioned this on day four and again on day eleven, but I was effectively a vegetarian for over twenty years because I didn’t like the taste of meat or fish or poultry. Even to this day I don’t the last two. It’s amazing how many times I hear people incredulous that I don’t like chicken. I think it’s that misconception that everything tastes like chicken. No it doesn’t, or I wouldn’t like anything!
  2. My taste in alcohol. Okay, this is very similar to the first one but I see it as separate because the first is an every-day pain in the arse and this one is only an occasional pain in the arse. My tastes are extremely limited. I don’t like wine, don’t even like the smell of it. That’s annoying because my wife likes a glass of wine (though not at the moment) and it’s the kind of thing that I really wish I did like. More annoying though is that I don’t like the taste of beer. It’s a real pain when I’m out with friends because I drink vodka and coke almost exclusively and they drink pints so I tend to finish a lot quicker than them! Fortunately I’m a parent these days so nights out are few and far between.
  3. I eat in order. If you put a plate of food in front of me that has a number of different items on it, I’ll eat them one item at a time until it’s done before moving on to the next. Some people jump between, some people mix it together and eat the combination… I prefer each food to have its own taste and to finish that taste before having a new taste.
  4. I write blogs. No really, this is a weird trait. Why would anyone care about anything I have to say? Same goes for Facebook, Twitter, any social networking really. Why does anyone care what I have to say? More importantly though, why do I feel the need to share it all? Actually, I know the answer to that – doing this makes me feel like I’m talking to myself in a more acceptable way than actually talking to myself. The bonus of this is that if I actually say something that someone does say about, I might get a response to it. I actually find that a good way to learn. If this is a way for me to think out loud, then getting feedback on it helps get an outside perspective and adds to what I’m thinking about. The trick is to make sure I listen properly, and take in what’s being said to the point that I actually learn from it.
About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 25 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

