30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Three

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“23. A family member you dislike.”

That’s easy, none of them.

I don’t exactly have a large family. Most of those who are still alive are on my mother’s side and I’ve either never met them or I don’t really know anything about them or I do know about them but never see any of them enough to either like or dislike them. That pretty much rules out the vast majority of family members that I have.

Chances are, if I was going to dislike anyone in my family it would have to be immediate family that I at least know well enough to like or dislike. But then I don’t dislike any of them. My parents and the two younger sisters I grew up with are great, as are my dad’s current partner and my baby brother and sister they’ve had in more recent years.

You’d think if I was going to dislike anyone then it might be around the area of the split between my parents but that happened long after I’d grown up and I knew it was coming long before it happened. If anything it’s better that it did happen and that they get to move on with life.

I even get along with my in-laws. As I mentioned on day twenty two, my wife’s parents do so much to help us out that I don’t know where I’d be without them. My wife’s brother isn’t someone I see all that often, but when I do I get on with him as well. Even my wife’s aunts and uncles whom I’ve met on occasion seem to get on quite well with me.

And of course there’s the family I see the most – my wife and my son. Go read days six and eleven to see how I feel about them!

So there’s no family member I dislike. It’s not even close. I might argue with them, or disagree with them, or they might do things that really irritate me or piss me off, but isn’t that the case with all families? As I said, I grew up with two younger sisters – I’m used to be pissed off by family at this point! But in the end I still love them all beyond that and I’d never even suggest that I actively dislike them.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 23 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

