30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty Two

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“22. Your morning routine.”

Well it’s a weekday, so let’s say I’m working.

My alarm goes off at half six in the morning. I’m a dreadful morning person so the chances of me bouncing up and out of my bed when the alarm sounds are directly proportional to whether or not I’m up to catch a flight to go on holiday.

I’m not, so the alarm gets turned off and I just lie there for a bit. Now one of three things happens.

One. My wife nudges me and tells me to get up. This rarely happens as she’s either up for work earlier than I am, or she is still asleep herself as she’s about as much in favour of mornings as I am.

Two. I hear a shout of “DADDY!!!” and have to get the wee guy out of his cot. I have to admit that right now I am extremely fortunate that he sleeps until after my alarm goes off but rarely beyond 7am. Clearly takes after his parents in sleeping as I know plenty of other parents who would love their kid to sleep in until half 6!

Three. I wake up myself again and check the time on my phone. It’s a wonder I don’t get to work late a lot as this is a risky game to play.

So let’s assume I’m up now and heading for the bathroom. It’s a quick shower, dry, skoosh of deodorant, wax in the hair, brush my teeth, mouthwash, and nasal spray because I have perennial rhinitis and if I don’t use the spray I’ll be sneezing all day. So annoying but at least it’s controlled.

Time runs faster in the bathroom than anywhere else in the world, so what feels like ten minutes to me is often double that. I invariably end up rushing around after I get out of the shower and check the time. Once the rest of that bathroom routine is done it’s a quick get dressed and ready to go.

Now, chances of me getting out the house immediately depends on a number of things. Did I remember to make lunch the night before? If not, can I be bothered making it now or will I be visiting Tesco this lunch time instead? That happens a lot. Is the wee guy still sleeping, or does he need some milk and Paw Patrol? Is my wife still sleeping, or is she getting a cup of tea while she lies in bed also watching Paw Patrol? Or is she at work and if she is have my in-laws arrived to watch the wee guy while we’re at work?

Actually, the most reliable aspect of my morning routine is my in-laws. They’re always there on time. If you think I’m lucky with the wee guy sleeping then I’m even luckier having such wonderful in-laws who dote over him and really do help my wife and I out so much.

Somewhere along the line I get out of the house and into the car for the morning commute. You’ve read about that one already on day thirteen, but ultimately the chances of me getting to work on time now lies in the hands of the traffic Gods.

But it’s Friday, so my chances are slightly better today than any other weekday. Not quite as good as recent Fridays when the schools were off though!

That’s pretty much my morning. Once I’m at work I’ll probably get a coffee. No breakfast you’ll note. Some will tell you it’s the most important meal of the day, but personally I find it makes little difference. I’m rarely hungry before lunch, although I do take that at 12. If I have breakfast I’m still hungry again by 12 so what’s the point if it only slows me down in the morning? That’s crucial bedtime it’s taking up if I need to factor in breakfast!

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 22 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

