30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Twenty

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“20. Put your music player on shuffle and write the first 3 songs that play and what your initial thought is.”

  1. Duran Duran – Planet Earth. I really need to get round to reading Paul Cuddihy’s short story book. No really, that’s my first thought. My second thought is Decade is a brilliant album, my third thought is this song must be as old as me, and my fourth thought is of my dad’s comment about how Duran Duran were great until Simon le Bon got a haircut. Let’s move on before I have any more thoughts and disappear down a rabbit hole.
  2. Paul McCartney and Wings – Band on the Run. Michael Parkinson, loved his interviews. Especially the classics like Muhammad Ali and Billy Connolly. He’s on the front of the album for those who don’t know. Parkie I mean. Also, I haven’t heard this in ages and I still know all the words! I still sing it too high though.
  3. Phil Collins – We Wait And We Wonder. Well that’s any remaining street cred I had well and truly buried! Possibly the one artist on my music list who would get me more pelters than Coldplay. Pretty sure this was my dad’s album, but I still ripped it and put it on Google Play music! I’ve even been to see him live on his farewell tour. That aside, isn’t this song about terrorism in the UK? You know, in the 1990s before it was all Islamic fundamentalists and they still phoned in a bombing to evacuate the place first? Terrorism used to be far more civilised in my day. He says tongue firmly in cheek.
About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 20 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

