30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Nineteen

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“19. Five fears that you have.”

  1. Being a good father. Easily my biggest fear. I’m pretty much guessing what I’m doing every single day. I’m doing my best but I worry I’ll screw it up somewhere along the line and who knows what that will lead to. I’d rather not think about it, and so I just do my best every day in the hope I get it right and I turn out to be a good father after all.
  2. Being left to bring up the kids alone. No really, I’ve had a dream more than once about that happening. As much as I have days where I have to look after my son on my own, I know it’s just a day or two at most. My wife is a wonderful mother and I couldn’t do this without her. I’m probably blaming a movie I saw when I was younger for this. I can’t remember the name of it but I think it starred Richard E Grant.
  3. Losing my job. Doesn’t everyone have this one? I enjoy my work and the people I work for and with are great, but it’s always in the back of my head that it might end one day. What if I screw up so badly they let me go? What if the work dries up and we have to make cuts? What if something else happens I’ve not thought of? There’s too many knock on effects from doing that which would then affect other aspects of my life not to worry about this.
  4. Conversation. I’m dreadful at it. I never know what to say or ask anyone, even my friends! I’m really good at thinking about it later on, but at the time… This is why I’m better on a computer, I get thinking time then.
  5. Death. Maybe not death itself, that’ll come to us all one day, but I just don’t want it to creep up on me unexpectedly too soon. Give me a long life first, one that let’s me see my kids grow up and succeed and have their own family. One that let’s me retire with my wife and enjoy the later years together. Not one that sees me hit by a bus on May 31st 2018 (see day fourteen)
About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 19 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

