30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Eighteen

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“18. Your favourite colour and why.”

Green.

You’d think this would be obvious, wouldn’t you? I’m a Celtic fan, and so of course my favourite colour is green. Well… it’s not that simple.

For one, when I was a kid my favourite colour was actually orange. I’ve no idea why that was the case, it just was. At least I thought it was. In 1999, just short of my eighteenth birthday, my perception of that changed.

On a holiday with my parents to the Greek island of Rhodes, they were in the middle of a heatwave. 40 degrees celsius every day, no pool at our hotel, miles from the beach… it wasn’t the greatest of holidays. But sitting out on the balcony I looked around and noticed just how red everything was. The dry climate was actually somewhat depressing.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the sun and I like the heat, but to a point! This was too hot, too dry, and I finally came to appreciate rain.

Maybe it’s a Scottish thing, but growing up here you feel like you get too much of it. But what you perhaps don’t always appreciate is that the rain is what makes everything green. The trees, the plants, everything is just greener in places where it rains.

Now, I shoudl point out here that Scotland isn’t actually green. It’s more brown, yellow and purple. Ireland is green, something I didn’t appreciate until I went there myself. Scotland just seemed green to me back then because I tended to play on the grass and not in the large farmers’ fields and among the heather. My perception of things was largely based on the small area where I lived. But look around the next time you’re on a long car or train journey, you’ll see just how much things aren’t as green as you think.

Nevertheless, from that day in Rhodes forward, green was my favourite colour. Supporting a football team that happens to play in green is just a nice bonus.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 18 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

