30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Eleven

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“11. Your current relationship; if single, discuss that too”

I’m married, and have been for almost five years now. Prior to that, we were together for six years, so we’ve been together for eleven years now.

Almost all of which we’ve lived together.

You see, my wife and I first got together just before I moved out of my parents’ house and into my very own flat. In fact, getting together with her played a big part in deciding where that flat would be. I didn’t just move out of my parents’ house, I moved well away too.

I’d actually first met her the previous year. She was the friend of my friend’s sister, and we’d all gone down to Kilmarnock to see a game of football on a supporters bus. She wasn’t single at the time, but even that day I remember thinking she was a lovely young woman to talk to.

No, she never believes me when I mention that!

Somewhere in between she became single, and eventually asked me out… only for me to turn her down!

What a fanny.

There were mitigating circumstances at the time which I’m not going into here, but needless to say I quickly realised the error my ways and – thanks in no small part to our mutual friends – we were eventually brought together.

When I got the keys to my flat a few months later, she was the first person I called and she was the first person to visit. Just a couple of months afterwards, she effectively moved in with me after I had a minor operation and needed someone to help look after me. Well, that’s what comes of hooking up with someone who was training in nursing.

Once I was healed up and back at work, we made that arrangement official as I asked her to move in with me. Even I’m surprised she’s still there to this day!

By the time she finished up her nursing training and got a job, we were ready to move from my flat to our house. A couple of years after that, on a holiday in Florida, I proposed and she said yes.

Not exactly the riskiest thing I’ve ever done as I think we both knew we were going to get married eventually. Indeed, on the night that I proposed she had suspected that I was going to do just that. Unfortunately for her I also figured that she knew, so I spent half the night trying to throw her off the scent. This included a nice walk where I stopped and commented on the view before walking on again… only to stop a few steps later to get down on one knee.

It worked so well she actually turned round in disgust thinking I was going into my pocket to pull out a camera!

The wedding itself was a terrific day surrounded by family and friends. In what was an utterly abysmal summer, we somehow managed to get married on the one weekend where the sun was blazing in the sky to the point some of our guests were getting sunburn we were outside for so long.

If the wedding day was brilliant, it’s since been surpassed when our son arrived. It will no doubt be surpassed again when our second child arrives this summer.

The family, the marriage, the living together… it’s all been fantastic and I could write about it for far longer than this blog. But lets just leave it at this because she doesn’t like the world knowing too much about her.

However, do you know one other aspect of this relationship I’m thankful for? Well, remember how I said I was a vegetarian for over twenty years on the ten interesting things about me writing challenge? The reason I stopped that is purely down to my wife managing to cook meat dishes that I actually liked.

So when you hear or read me saying “I’m a better person for having met my wife”, that’s probably what I’m referring to because now I like steak!

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 11 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

