30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Six

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“6. Someone who fascinates you and why”

I tried to think of famous people, or people I follow on twitter, or people I’ve know through work connections. To be honest, the answer to today’s challenge was staring me in the face the whole time.

For three years now one person has fascinated me more than any other. From the day I found out about him I’ve had so many questions, so many thoughts and theories about him.

My son of course.

I wondered whether he’d be a boy or a girl. For some reason I thought he’d be a girl, but clearly not! I wondered what he would look like. Would he look like me or my wife? Would he be healthy was always a concern of course, one that turned out to be unfounded as he was absolutely fine when he was born – save for some concerns about jaundice that had him sleeping almost naked on a light box for the first few days of his life.

When he was born I would stare at him as he slept and wonder what lay in store for this new life. Would he grow up to be intelligent like me – no really, I was quite good at school! Or would he take a different path entirely? I was mathematical more than anything else, maybe he could be good at languages? Or will he be athletic? Or musical? Or something else I haven’t thought about yet?

Of course, I had my own concerns. How would I know what I needed to do to bring him up? Would I be a good father to him? Why don’t they come with a manual and an exam before they let you loose with one of your own? Where is everyone and why have you left me alone with him?!

I honestly think that was the best thing that could have happened. From literally the first hour of his life I was left to get on with it on my own for a while.

Three years on from first finding out I was going to be a father, the questions only keep coming. Time will tell what life has in store for him and those questions remain, but more have since been added to the set of questions I already had.

I wonder where he gets all the energy from to run around all day. I wonder what his developing imagination is creating. I wonder what makes him laugh and smile. I wonder why daddy makes things all better unless mummy is around in which case daddy is useless.

What interests him now? Fireman Sam and Paw Patrol seem to be his favourite right now, but previously it was things on Baby TV. Sometimes he has no interest whatsoever in football if I’m watching it, yet occasionally he joins in if I cheer and he loves it.

Okay, so that last one is him just copying me and seeing how happy I am. But it begs more questions about whether or not he’ll be into football like I am, or will he go down a different sport path entirely? Even if he does like football, would he have any interest in the same team as me? Would he want to play or just watch?

And what about the upcoming change with a second child on the way? How will being a big brother change him, or will he take it in his stride? Is there anything I can tell him about it from my experiences as a big brother?

And what about all of my other experiences in life? Will they be of any use to him, or will he have his own experiences to work through that are completely different from my own?

So many questions. He’s come so far already, and yet we’ve only just begun to see him develop. There’s nothing fascinates me more than my son.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 6 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

