30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Five

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“5. A place you would live, but have never visited.”

Canada. Probably Toronto.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m happy where I am right now. Everything I want and need is right here. But if that ever changed, emigration would be something I’d consider.

So the question would then become where would I go? Well, my wife and I are fortunate enough to have professions that would be in demand, so we could pretty much to wherever we wanted.

Personally I’d want to go somewhere that speaks English. That’s a failing on my part, languages are not my strong point so the thought learning a new one on top of all the changes that come with emigrating seems a step to far for me.

So where would I go? Half way round the world to Australia or New Zealand? That’s a long way to go, something would have to not just change here but actively push me away from home to make that choice. I think even if I moved on I’d want to make it a reasonable journey back.

So that basically leaves the US or Canada. And when you consider things like health care or attitude towards things like guns, Canada seems like the better choice to me.

So why Toronto? Well, for one thing it’s on the east coast which factors in the ease of getting back here again. But really… It’s the Baseball. I might be a Rays fan, but if I moved to Canada I’d be going along to see the Blue Jays if at all possible!

Yep, eventually it comes right back to sport. At least I’d only be 5 hours removed from Celtic too.

I’ve never been to Canada, but I don’t know anyone who has a bad word to say about it. I think even if I never emigrate in my life it’s somewhere I’d love to see. And again, if I was going to Canada I’d want to see the Rockies and I’d want to see Niagra Falls. The latter isn’t too far from Toronto!

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 5 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You’d like Toronto. It’s a gateway city, like Sydney Australia – a big melting pot of cultures and accents! Clean and safe too, with lots to do, including spectator sports. The Indy was in town when I last visited! The puteen is also yum (gravy chips with cheese curds… I’ll avoid any obvious Scottish diet jokes)! It really is a place everyone likes ☺

Leave a Reply

