30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Three

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“3. Your first love and first kiss; if separate discuss both”

Oh good, this is the blog when my wife complains!

She’s neither you see. But lets just point out right here and now she’s by far and away the most important one! She’s the one that’s been around for more than a decade, she’s the one I married, she’s the one I have a family with, she’s the one I love more than anything apart from the aforementioned rest of the family! So let’s keep the rest of this blog in perspective and remember it’s now so long ago that it’s nothing like how things are today.

My first love and my first kiss are two separate people because the first was one I never acted on and I regretted that for a long time.

Okay, so I was thirteen years old at the time, and I’m sure many would suggest that it wasn’t really love because you wouldn’t know what love is at thirteen. Well, even today, I’d say it was. She had a profound affect on the thirteen year old me, but being thirteen meant I didn’t have a clue what to do with it. I was too young, too shy and pretty much too stupid to know what to do with my feelings. By the time I did, she was long gone from my life.

So with her gone, I took a long time to move on and after getting absolutely nowhere with a few other infatuations where I probably came off as needy and angsty rather than anything else, when I eventually did find someone I did it online where I was possibly most comfortable. I fell for someone on there and it then took something like four years for us to meet up as she wasn’t local. In that time, I more or less stopped looking around my real life and committed to this online relationship.

Hey, at least I’m faithful!

When we did finally physically meet up for the first time it was great and that was when we had our – and my – first kiss. Hand on heart, I was genuinely 21 years old at this point!

That online relationship came to an end within a year of that kiss though, and it was a bit more than a year after that split that I met the woman who became my wife.

It might have taken a long time for me to get going, but that’s not exactly set me back and having learned lessons from everything that’s gone before I’m now happier than I could ever have imagined when I was that shy thirteen year old or even when I was the twenty one year old virgin lips!

And ultimately, isn’t that the point? I don’t forget or ignore the past, I see it as something to learn from. And I think doing that is a large part in why I’m more than happy with how my life has turned out.

No regrets, just lessons.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 3 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

