30 Day Writing Challenge – Day Two

30 Day Writing Challenge

So I saw the above list on Facebook and decided it was worth giving a go. Every day for the month of April, I’ll be putting together a short blog on the chosen topic. But of course since I have a life and responsibilities, I might have written it a few days in advance and scheduled it to appear on my blog for the right day! So, with that in mind, here’s today’s blog.

“2. Your earliest memory”

There’s a bit of a debate here because I’m not entirely sure of the dates involved so I’m not sure which one will be the earliest.

On the one hand, I think I remember riding my tricycle on the landing of the flat I used to live in. At most I was about 3 years old at that point, and I definitely used to do exactly what I think I remember. But the problem I have with this memory is I’m not sure if it’s real or not. I’ve been told I did this by my parents, so I’m not sure if I actually remember doing it or if my mind has merely created the image of me doing it.

On the other hand, I do remember sitting in a van going through the Castlecary Arches as we moved out of Glasgow and out to the area I stayed in for more than twenty years. That’s definitely a real memory because neither of my parents has ever told me about it. But I know exactly when we made that move and it was about a month before my sister was born. So I was a few months past three by that point. It’s clearly after the first one, if that really is real.

There’s a third option, but I don’t know what age I was. I remember watching Star Trek on TV. And I mean proper Star Trek! The original series with Kirk, Spock, McCoy, Scotty and all the rest. I know it’s them because in a different memory a few years later I had a long talk with my dad about how weird it would be to have a Klingon on the bridge in the new upcoming series which we know is TNG. But more than that, the memory I have is less about the plot and more about the bright colours of the original series of Star Trek. The reds, the yellows, the blues… it’s all very noteworthy when you’re really young. Even now it stands out when it’s on.

So really, I’m not sure what my earliest memory is. It’ll be one of those for sure!

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 2 April 2016, in 30 Day Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

