30 Day Challenges… Day 10

“A Match That Made You (Almost) Fall Asleep” – I’ll leave aside the games I’ve watched that have taken place at silly times in the morning as far as I’m concerned, because we’ve played a few at 2am for me!

I’ve never really come close to falling asleep due to boredom when watching a game, but whenever I think about the most boring game I’ve ever been to there’s always one that springs to mind – my very first visit to Celtic Park.

December 1991, and Celtic are rubbish. Really, truly terrible. The board were penny pinching and heading for the exit doors (although that took another 2 and a bit years) and we hadn’t won a trophy in two years. Liam Brady had been appointed the manager that summer after Billy McNeill had been forced out. It wasn’t a great time for the club. However, I was now itching to go and see my team play and eventually got my dad to take me to a midweek game that winter. The game was against Hibernian.

Now, I would love to tell you about this game but I really don’t remember ANY of it. All I do remember is how brilliant it was to be in the Jungle (the real one before they redeveloped Celtic Park) and that the game itself was awful. It finished 0-0 and that’s exactly how it should be. I can’t find any details on the game anywhere else. It’s just a game that means nothing to anyone. Except me of course, because it was my first visit to Celtic Park – a place I now spend a lot of time at.

Fairly sure that because this game was so awful, and because the sack the board campaign was getting going around this time, my dad didn’t take me again until the old board was gone. SO my next game was in the summer of 1994, at which point we were playing at Hampden for a year because of the redevelopment of Celtic Park. So this freezing cold December game was my one and only visit to the Jungle. I’m glad I got that chance, even if I didn’t get to sample the famous atmosphere of that stand.

If anyone can find a newspaper report online from this game – the Celtic Wiki has it listed as 4th December 1991 but has no further details – then please send me a link. I’d love to have some more details about it.

About Krys

I rant. On twitter, at work, on message boards... well, now I rant here too.

Posted on 18 April 2011, in Football. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I was at that game.

    My abiding memory of it is everyone singing “Short, fat and baldy, you’re only short and fat and baldy” to Mickey Weir.

  2. Hey would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?

    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

    • Hi,

      It’s not hosted anywhere specific, it’s done through WordPress themselves. It’s quite restrictive in what you can do, but it fulfils my limited needs!

Leave a Reply

